Wood and Woodley claim Winter League titles

The last race of Bridlington Road Runners' Winter League was the Anniversary Three-Mile, on Sunday.

Monday, 15th February 2016, 1:58 pm
Updated Monday, 15th February 2016, 2:00 pm
Women's league winner Sarah Wood with Josh Taylor

Conditions were good, although it was slightly blustery on the clifftops, and while this was the shortest route in the series, the runners were aware that it is often one of the toughest because it requires 100% effort throughout.

The club had its biggest turnout in recent years, with 27 runners testing their fitness.

The course was a simple route with everyone starting together, with the handicaps worked out after the race. The start was on the promenade below the Expanse Hotel, with the first half mile uphill and against the wind, along the land train road turning round near The Ship Inn.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Men's winner Mark Woodley

Runenrs headed back along the cliff side path before turning round at the coastguard station and doing another lap before going to the finish.

Sarah Wood and Emma Artley were battling it out for the ladies’ title, with Wood giving that little bit extra effort needed on the day to take the honours.

Zoe Ruston was second on the day and Artley took third spot. After the handicap was worked out, after all three’s race points were added, Wood was the winner of the trophy by just four points.

The handicap winner on Sunday was Rose Shipley.

Men's winner Mark Woodley

In the men’s event, this race was the decider between Andy Baker ,Mark Woodley and Scott Hargreaves who were the main contenders for the Winter League title.

Although Hargreaves came home first on the day, Woodley pulled out a great run, clinching second on the day and taking the league title after the handicap was worked out.

John Nolan finished in third spot.

The age category winners on the day were, for the ladies, Dominique Webster, Debbie Duffill, Tina Calthorpe and Linda Hall, and for the men, Duncan Smart, Dave Foster, Allan Clayton and Bob Eyre.were the winners.


Men:1 Scott Hargreaves 18:03, 2 Mark Woodley 19:04, 3 John Nolan 19:17, 4 Duncan Smart 19:49, 5 Josh Taylor 20:22, 6 Matt Pilling 20:48, 7 Tony Hughes 21:09, 8 Andy Baker 21:32, 9 Simon Porter 21:58, 10 Allan Clayton 22:31, 11 Kevin Lewis 23:39, 12 Bob Eyre 24:29, 13 Chris Phelps (guest) 24:45, 14 Pete Royal 26:04, 15 Dave Foster 27:34, 16 Justin Choat (guest) 31:13, 17 Rob Calthorpe 32:56

Women: 1 Sarah Wood 21:02, 2 Zoe Ruston 22:12, 3 Emma Artley 22:17, 4 Rose Shipley 25:47, 5 Dominique Webster 26:02, 6 Catherine Thornton 30:31, 7 Emma Choat (guest) 31:13, 8 Linda Hall 32:28, 9 Debbie Duffill 32:28, 10 Tina Calthorpe 32:55