Ross is the boss in Leyland's victory

Josh DixonJosh Dixon
Josh Dixon
Leyland gave their Northern League title push a kick-start with victory over Netherfield at Fox Lane.

After a couple of draws and games being hit by the weather, they won by 55 runs.

Overnight rain had left the outfield damp which meant a delayed start and the clash reduced to 44 overs per side.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Leyland skipper David Makinson won the toss and elected to bat first, the home side going on to put 139-5 on the board.

Henry Thompson top-scored with 32, with Karl Cross hitting 28 and Nathan McDonnell 19.

Makinson and Ross Bretherton then shone with the ball, sharing 10 wickets as Netherfield were dismissed for 84 in reply.

Bretherton took 6-24 in 9.5 overs, with Makinson returning figures of 4-12 from a 13-over spell.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Leyland’s victory kept them within seven points of leaders Blackpool – they were winners by six wickets at Morecambe.

Morecambe batted first on their Woodhill Lane track and put a decent enough 156-6 on the board.

Ryan Pearson hit 41, Josh Dixon 38 and Lewis Edge 31.

For the visitors, Joshua Boyne took 3-44 and Daniel Pile 2-52.

Blackpool chased down their target by the 44th over, opener Ciaran Johnson carrying his bat with an unbeaten 59 – a knock which included six fours and a six.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Boyne joined Johnson in the middle to score 42 not out, the pair seeing the leaders home to victory.

Chorley beat Penrith by four wickets at Windsor Park.

A wet outfield meant a late start and the game being reduced to 34 overs.

Penrith were 124-6, opener Greg Hall scoring 62 from 77 balls – including eight boundaries. Recently-arrived pro Nekoli Parris took 3-39, with Ian Oakes finishing with 2-14.

In reply, Chorley lost their top three cheaply but Parris got the scoreboard moving, going on to score an unbeaten half-century.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Will Moulton hit 30, with Kieran McCullagh joining Parris to complete victory.

Preston’s visit to Barrow ended in a 49-run defeat.

The hosts batted first at the Ernest Pass Memorial Ground and were bowled out for 151 in 48.4 overs.

Lukman Vahaluwala and Saeed Bariwala took four wicket apiece, Vahaluwala posting 4-37 and Bariwala 4-46.

It was a reachable target for Preston but they were dismissed for 102 in 30 overs.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Vahaluwala top-scored with 34 and Yasin Boda hit 21 but only two other batsmen joined them in double figures.

St Annes won their visit to Lancaster by two wickets.

They asked the hosts to bat first and bowled them out for 131.

Mitchell Bolus and Matthew Grindley took three wickets apiece, with Shadley Van Schalkwyk and Tom Higson claiming two each.

For Lancaster, Abhimanyu Khod hit 45 and skipper Ben Simm 35.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In reply, St Annes clinched victory by putting 132-8 on the board Van Schakkwyk leading the charge with 51.

Richard Staines added 28, with Josh Taylor and Bolus completing the job.

Simm and Liam Moffat took three wickets each for the home side.

Darwen beat Fleetwood by seven wickets, Shrikant Wagh taking 5-22.