Leyland are undone by Shadley

Leyland's Northern League title hopes took a knock as they were beaten by St Annes.
Chorley's Joseph Tiffin and Edwin Moulton in action against BlackpoolChorley's Joseph Tiffin and Edwin Moulton in action against Blackpool
Chorley's Joseph Tiffin and Edwin Moulton in action against Blackpool

They lost by seven wickets at Vernon Road, with home pro Shadley Van Schalkwyk doing much of the damage.

Van Schalkwyk took 5-31 and then helped see St Annes to victory with the bat.

Electing to bat first, Leyland were dismissed for 85.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Ross Bretherton was their top scorer with 24, with Andrew Makinson adding 18.

Van Schalkwyk took 5-31, Matthew Grindley claiming the other four wickets.

St Annes needed less than 16 overs to clinch victory, the hosts posting 86-3.

Gurman Bains scored 35, De Wet Swart 25, while Van Schalkwyk was 17 not out.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Blackpool have a 22-point lead at the top of the table after beating Chorley by four wickets at Stanley Park.

Chorley batted first and were 131 all out, the bulk of the runs scored lower down the order.

Edwin Moulton, batting at seven, hit an unbeaten 46 off 77 balls – including six fours. Joseph Tiffin added 28 with Chris Harty scoring 12 when joining Moulton for the final wicket.

Daryl Mitchell finished with figures of 5-39 and Stephen Twist 3-13.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Blackpool chased down their target in 40.5 overs, posting 134-6. Tom Jefferson struck an unbeaten half century and Twist 24.

Preston were beaten by six wickets in their home clash with Darwen.

After having first use of their West Cliff track, Preston were 151 all out.

Sajid Patel hit 47 at the top of the order, with Lukman Vahaluwala scoring 37.

Rizwan Ali, coming in at eight, struck an unbeaten 25.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Darwen replied with 153-4 to collect the points, Amner Mirza scoring 42 and Scott Jackson 37.

Mustafa Durrani took 2-24, with Andrew Starkie and Vahaluwala taking one each.

Defending champions Morecambe are bottom of the table, having been beaten by nine wickets at Fleetwood.

They were undone by the bowling of Patrick Ashton who took 7-63 in 16.4 overs.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Ashton’s performance helped dismiss Morecambe for 146 – skipper Joshn Dixon their top scorer with 57.

Fleetwood recovered from losing opener Travis Dean for a duck, with Adam Parker and Dean Bell enjoying unbeaten knocks of 75 and 71 respectively as they successfully chased victory.

In two all-Cumbrian clashes, Barrow beat Netherfield by eight wickets at Parkside Park, while Penrith and Kendal drew their game.

Tony Mowat hit an unbeaten 78 in Barrow’s seven-wicket victory.