Preston City Councillor wins Southport seat

A Preston City Councillor has become the only Conservative MP to be elected to the entire of Merseyside, Wirral, Halton and Warrington.

Friday, 9th June 2017, 8:19 am
Updated Tuesday, 13th June 2017, 3:31 pm
Damien Moore has become the MP for Southport

Damien Moore, Deputy Group leader for the Conservatives at Preston City Council, won the Southport seat after it held been held for nearly 20 years by the Lib Dems.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The 37 year-old Asda Manager won the seat with a 6% majority with 18,541 votes.

Labour candidate Liz Savage came in second place with 15,627 with 32.6% of the votes and Sue McGuire for Lib Dems came third with 12,661 votes.