Commission reveals new electoral map for county

THE electoral map for Lancashire County Council is set to be redrawn but a top Tory councillor has branded the new allocation of council seats 'lazy'.
Garstang will no longer be divided between divisionsGarstang will no longer be divided between divisions
Garstang will no longer be divided between divisions

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England says the council should retain 84 councillors with extensive boundary shake-ups designed to ensure each councillor represents around 11,000 voters.

It means the council will have 80 single-member electoral divisions and two two-member electoral divisions at the next elections in 2017, subject to parliamentary approval. Preston will have nine wards instead if its current 10 and Chorley will go up to eight wards from seven.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

But the Commission’s conclusions, which will trigger a race for nominations for the new seats, received a mixed reaction from political parties.

Coun Geoff Driver, leader of the Conservative opposition group on the council, said: “It is very disappointing that the Boundary Commission has not considered the well founded objections that were put to them. The kindest thing that can be said about the Boundary Commission’s approach is that it was lazy.”

Labour Coun David Borrow, LCC Deputy Leader, said: “The numbers in each councillor’s area is much more equal than now and that’s an important thing for democracy. I expect local parties - as soon as (the local May) elections are over - will want to start putting selection procedures in place to get new candidates in place for the new boundaries.”

County Coun Bill Winlow, leader of the Liberal Democrat group, who represents Preston West division, said: “Preston is much as Lancashire recommended and we’re fairly happy with that.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“I’m sorry we’ll be losing Lea from Preston West but pleased we’ll be getting part of Greyfriars and Cadley.”

Following consultations Nateby is now in Wyre Rural East division rather than Wyre Rural Central, so Garstang is not divided between divisions.

Myerscough and Bilsborrow is in Wyre Rural East division.

Coppull will not divided between divisions and the whole of Newton-with-Clifton parish is in Fylde East division.

Click here for full details.