Dunk Rock and co rewind

Progressive Lancashire indie label trawls back catalogue for music old and new from local artists

Saturday, 15th March 2014, 10:00 pm
Back catalogue for music old and new from local artists
Back catalogue for music old and new from local artists

A Lancashire record label is set to release deleted and previously unavailable recordings by bands and artists from around the Fylde coast.

Thundersqueak Records has been releasing albums by Blackpool band UFX for more than 10 years.

The label is now making albums, singles and EPs by UFX and several other Fylde Coast bands available for the first time on popular on-demand Internet radio stations Spotify, LastFM and RDio.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

All have been remastered and can be purchased as downloads from Amazon, i-Tunes and e-Music.

UFX’s Sick Sick Sex (2008) and Crack! (2006) are re-released and the band’s new album Reverse Engineering (Exits Exist). Also re-released are the albums Frump Experiments (2000), Total Sonic Mayhem (2002) and Offensive (2004), from the days when UFX were called Uncle Fester.

All three Uncle Fester albums have been out of print for around 10 years.

Fleetwood duo Mockingbone’s recordings of 1995-7 were previously available only on three ultra-rare CDs.

The first album Mockingbone... Trance and Mentell has now been split into three EPs: Mockingbone, Trance and Mentell.

The band’s two Mix Bag CDs have been reorganised into two compilations Song Cycle and EnTrance.

Fleetwood’s Shining Sons, is now also widely-available for the first time with a self-titled nine-track album, mostly of recordings made in Preston in 1989.

Forgotten compiles early eighties Blackpool synth rock band Zoo Boutique’s 1982 singles with remastered demos and cassette releases and Two Sane Men, an album recorded by Zoo Boutique just before the band folded permanently at the end of 1986, is now available for the first time.

The link between these band’s is vocalist and musician Duncan Jowitt (aka Dunk Rock), whose Cyber Punk Rock releases of 1994 under the name Lucifer, contained the first (possibly the only) rock songs with full vocals ever issued on floppy disk.

Those and other floppy-only releases from 1994-96 have been compiled into the Cyber Punk Rock album and a double album Cyber Zone.

There are also some more recent releases under the name Lucifer.

These include two polystylistic classical EPs Lost Symphonies and 3 Threnodies as well as the 2006 limited edition Trick or Treat EP and a single Death Is On Your Track, which first appeared on YouTube last year.

An EP, Alien Ballads, recorded in 1996 is simply credited to Duncan Jowitt as is Incarnate, a late 1980s collaboration with the St Annes-based electronics wizard Steve Rosser who regularly releases recordings on Soundcloud under the name Ste Rozza.

Listeners can download all the albums and EPs in full or as individual tracks and the label promises that there is plenty more to come.