Net gains for Chorley club

Sarah Fisher looks for a pass at Chorley Inferno's netball tournament  (Photos: Alan Eastham)
Sarah Fisher looks for a pass at Chorley Inferno's netball tournament (Photos: Alan Eastham)
Have your say

Chorley Inferno netball club’s annual tournament was a roaring success.

The competition is the largest in the North West and catered for more than 100 teams and saw 900 youngsters aged between seven and 16 take part.

Club chairman Nicola Mcintyre was pleased with the turnout at Holy Cross High School in Chorley.

She said: “It was a really good weekend. It has grown over the years.

“We had teams travelling from across the North West to take part.

“Clubs from Oldham, Bury, Burnley, Leyland and Preston entered.

“It is our third annual tournament and it has become the biggest one in the North West.”

Oldham were crowned champions of seven of the nine age divisions.

But the highlight for Mcintyre is the rise and future potential of the young Infernos.

The club was started by Chorley Sports Partnership five years ago and has gone from strength-to-strength under Mcintyre’s stewardship.

She said: “The great thing was that we entered 14 teams in the tournament.

“Four years ago we only had 20 players now we have more than 140.

“We welcome children from Year Three right up to year 11.

“We are taking 40 youngsters to a national tournament at Pontins in Prestatyn in June.

“We have not had anyone represent Lancashire or England yet but we are only a young club.

“I’m hoping some of our future stars will go on to represent us at that level. There is so much talent at our club and we are still growing.”


Under-8/9 winners: Oldham

Under-8/9 runners up: Bury

Under-10 winners: Oldham

Under-10 runners up: Rabble Reindeers

Under-11 winners: Oldham

Under-11 runners up: Bury

Under-12 winners: Oldham

Under-12 runners up: Bury

Under-13 winners: Oldham

Under-13 runners up: Tameside

Under-14 winners: Oldham

Under-14 runners up: Asco

Under-15 winners: Bury

Under-15 runners up: Oldham

Under-16 winners: Tameside

Under-16 runners up: LSA