Marvellous Musa carries off triple crown

Star of the show Charles Musa
Star of the show Charles Musa
Have your say

Charles Musa stole the show at the annual Preston Table Tennis Championships at the weekend.

The Ashton Meths player came away with an unprecedented treble of titles.

The action took place at Preston Table Tennis Associations headquarters at the St Augustine’s Centre in Avenham on Sunday.

Musa was in commanding form in the blue riband event, the open singles, to reclaim the title he also claimed in 2011.

He won the final in straight sets against Andy Michnowiec (URCL), the 2006 champion.

In the veterans singles, a title he won in 2011 and 2012, Musa beat Keiron Bewswick (Kirkham) in four entertaining sets.

And at the end of a very long day for him, he and Ashton team-mate Majid Tubasum won the open doubles final in four sets against Tony Rigby (Astra) and Jordan Brookes (Gryf).

Teenager Brookes did taste success in the junior singles after winning a thrilling final against Matt Fields (Garstang).

Fields took the first two sets but Brookes held his nerve to take the last three sets 11-9 11-9 11-8.

Brookes also had a notable scalp in the open singles earlier in the day, coming back from two sets and 8-4 down in the third before knocking out four-times champion Andy Clark (BAC/EE).

The other big winner on the day was young Matt Howarth, who went home with two titles.

He won the cadet singles (for Under-14s) by beating Owen Bendall (Garstang) in straight sets in the final.

And impressively, he also took the handicap singles crown after beating fellow Division One player Andrew White (Riverside) in the final, despite having to concede three points each leg, coming back from two sets to one down before taking the decider 11-8.

The final prize up for grabs was the Over-60s title and that was won for a second year in succession by Jim Higham (Riverside).

In this year’s final, he beat clubmate Mick Mahon in four sets.



Final: Charles Musa (Ashton Meths) bt Andy Michnowiec (URCL) 11-8 12-10 11-5. Semi-finals: Musa bt Keiron Beswick (Kirkham) 11-9 11-5 11-7; Michnowiec bt Dean Walmsley (Astra) 11-5 11-7 11-8


Final: Charles Musa & Majid Tubasum (Ashton Meths) bt Tony Rigby (Astra) & Jordan Brookes (Gryf) 11-8 11-5 8-11 11-7. Semi-finals: Musa & Tubasum bt Paul Robinson & Dean Walmsley (Astra) 11-9 11-8 11-8; Rigby & Brookes bt Andy Clark & Graham Procter (BAC/EE) 8-11 11-1 11-9 6-11 12-10


Final: Charles Musa (Ashton Meths) bt Keiron Beswick (Kirkham) 11-9 4-11 11-8 11-8. Semi-finals: Musa bt Tony Rigby (Astra) 11-13 11-9 11-5 11-6; Beswick bt Andy Michniowiec (URCL) 7-11 13-11 11-2 11-8


Final: Matt Howarth (Astra) bt Andrew White (Riverside) (+3) 11-10 7-11 9-11 11-6 11-8. Semi-finals: Howarth (+3) bt Paul Robinson (Astra) 8-11 8-11 11-7 11-4 11-4; White bt Nigel Fewster (Chorley) 11-9 11-5 11-10


Final: Jim Higham (Riverside) bt Mick Mahon (Riverside) 11-9 1-11 11-7 11-4


Final: Jordan Brookes (Gryf) bt Matt Fields (Astra) 7-11 8-11 11-9 11-9 11-7. Semi-finals: Brookes bt Patrick Berry (Preston Colts) 11-4 11-6 11-2; Fields bt Owen Bendall (Garstang) 11-2 11-6- 11-9


Final: Matt Howarth (Astra) bt Owen Bendall (Garstang) 11-9 11-7 11-8. Semi-finals: Howarth bt Anupam Tripathi (Preston Colts) 11-7 11-6 11-1; Bendall by Nathan Nickeas (Astra) 11-8 11-6