Guild Hall event to honour darts legend Eric Bristow

Organisers of The Grand Masters of Darts, due to be held at Preston Guild Hall on Friday, June 22, have announced the trophy will be named The Eric Bristow Memorial Cup as a mark of respect.

Wednesday, 11th April 2018, 10:30 am
Updated Wednesday, 11th April 2018, 10:36 am
Eric Bristow who died last week aged 60

The decision was made following the recent death of five-time world darts champion Bristow from a heart attack at the age of 60.

A spokesman for the event said: “The team behind the Grand Masters of Darts are all obviously shocked and saddened by the sudden death of Eric Bristow.

“At this extremely sad time their thoughts are with his family, friends and colleagues.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

“A five-times world champion with the prestige of Eric is, in their opinion, irreplaceable on the show’s line-up.

“As a mark of respect the Grand Masters trophy will now be named the Eric Bristow Memorial Cup and will be presented each year to the winner.”

The Grand Masters of Darts is the largest gathering of legendary darts players.

With Paul Booth set to MC the event, players expected to take part include Trina Gulliver, Ted Hankey, Peter Manley, Alan Warriner, Tony O’Shea, Wayne Mardle, Bobby George and Colin Lloyd.

The event was previously advertised with Eric Bristow in the line-up as a competitor.

Tickets to attend the event are available from or via the box office on 01772 80 44 44.