PNE invincibles in Hall of Fame

Preston North End's Invincibles of 1888-89
Preston North End's Invincibles of 1888-89
Have your say

The legendary Preston North End Invincibles will be inducted in to the National Football Museum Hall Of Fame.

The first ever winners of the Football League, who also won the FA Cup in the same year after going unbeaten all season, will be honoured.

The North End stalwarts will join Sir Tom Finney on the list of footballing greats.

The team has been nominated alongside nine other leading football figures, including Patrick Vieira, Michael Owen, Jimmy Mcilroy, fAlan Shearer, Trevor Francis, Ray Wilkins and Matt Dimbylow, who is captain of the England cerebral palsy team, women’s football pioneer Sylvia Gore MBE, and Scotland, Newcastle and Chelsea goalscoring phenomenon of the 1920s and 30s Hughie Gallacher.

Inductees have been chosen by a panel featuring some of the biggest names in football including, the Museum’s President Sir Bobby Charlton, Vice President Sir Alex Ferguson, Gordon Taylor and Mark Lawrenson.

They must have finished their playing career or be aged over 30 and have played or managed in England for at least five years to qualify for Hall of Fame nomination.

The Invincibles will also receive one of two special awards which will also be made – the other, to mark the 1914 World War One centenary, will go to The Football Battalion, a group of professional footballers and fans who fought in the Battle of the Somme.

National Football Museum Director Kevin Moore said: “We are delighted to be able to recognise the achievements of these legendary players in this way.

“We really hope they and their families can attend the induction dinner and we’d love to see fans come along too – it’s a rare chance to be close to some of the biggest players in football history.

“We’re also extremely grateful to the PFA and the FA for their continued support of the event.”

Gordon Tayor OBE, Chief Executive at the PFA added: “The PFA is proud to have been a supporter of the National Football Museum’s Hall of Fame and contributor to the selection process since its inception in 2002.

“It is a key means by which we ensure that great players of the past are remembered.”