Trophy joy for Magpies

Goalscorer James Dean
Goalscorer James Dean
Have your say

A trip across the Pennines awaits Chorley in the first round proper of the FA Trophy after they emerged 2-1 winners in their third qualifying round replay at Stalybridge Celtic last night.

The impressive Jack Lynch gave the Magpies the lead in the first half before the prolific James Dean doubled the visitors’ lead with eight minutes left at Bower Fold.

Kevin Holsgrove provided a little scare when scored in the final minute of stoppage time but Chorley held on and will now make the trip to Guiseley.

Chorley boss Garry Flitcroft made four changes from Saturday – in came Sam Ashton, Adam Mather, Josh Hine and Dean, with Paul Jarvis and Chris Simm dropping to the bench while Aaron Grundy and Chris Almond missed out through illness and injury.

The Magpies took the lead after 23 minutes. From a long ball punted forward, Stalybridge dawdled and Lynch took advantage of loose ball on the edge of the box by slotting a curled effort past Lewis King.

The home side pressed for an equaliser but Ashton remained largely untested.

Just before half-time, George Lomax had a great chance to equalise but the Celtic No.9 scuffed his chipped effort well wide of the goal.

King was called into action at the other end deflecting a Darren Stephenson shot over the bar and Dale Whitham should have doubled the Magpies’ lead but he headed wide from four yards.

Early in the second half, Ashton saved a Paul Ennis free-kick.

In-form Stephenson had a golden chance with 15 minutes lef but his curled effort from an acute angle went the wrong side of the post.

Mark Ross tremendously headed away a Holsgrove cross with his back to goal as the home side upped the ante as they sought an equaliser.

But with eight minutes left, sub Jarvis found space down the left and his drilled cross was stabbed home on the edge of the box by Dean.

Holsgrove ensured a nervy ending as his deflected shot squirmed its way past Ashton but Chorley held on to seal their place in the next round.

Chorley: Ashton, Jacobs (Jarvis 71), Mather, Teague, Ross, Cottrell, Hine (Mulholland 84), Whitham, Dean, Lynch (Lynch 79), Stephenson. Unused subs: Simm, Jansen