Sampson’s vital Shrimps equaliser

Morecambe's Jack Sampson (right) celebrates his goal
Morecambe's Jack Sampson (right) celebrates his goal
Have your say

Morecambe 1 Scunthorpe 1

An injury-time Jack Sampson goal gave Morecambe a vital point in their battle for League Two safety.

The youngster popped up in the box four minutes into stoppage time to head a Jamie Devitt left-wing cross past visiting keeper Sam Slocombe to give Jim Bentley’s battlers a point they fully deserved.

Once again the Shrimps had to come from behind after the Iron’s top scorer Sam Winnall gave them the lead with a 22nd-minute header.

Paddy Madden was the provider with a pinpoint cross from the right and Winnall’s downward effort evaded the flat-footed Barry Roche.

The Iron went were denied a second two minutes later when David Syers’ header from a left-wing corner beat Roche but was cleared off the line by Alex Kenyon.

Morecambe failed to threaten in the first half but were a different outfit after the break.

Padraig Amond and Andy Wright both tested Slocombe with shots on target in the early stages before Scunthorpe hit back with former Preston North End striker Paul Hayes seeing a close-range volley superbly blocked by Roche.

Morecambe continued to press and were denied an equaliser by a controversial refereeing decision on 77 minutes.

Kevin Ellison volleyed sweetly past Slocombe but the referee pulled play back for an earlier Scunthorpe handball and the Shrimps had to make do with a free-kick on the edge of the area.

Ryan Williams stepped up but saw his effort smartly tipped away by Slocombe, who dived sharply to his left.

The pressure continued with Slocombe making a world-class save to tip away a Jack Redshaw volley.

As the game came to an end the referee signalled six added minutes of time and Morecambe took full advantage when Devitt danced down the left and crossed for Sampson to score.

Morecambe: Roche, Beeley, Hughes, Parrish (Redshaw 70), Edwards, Mustoe, Kenyon, Wright (Sampson 82), Devitt, Ellison, Amond (Williams 70) . Subs (not used): Threlfall, Diagne, Marshall, Arestidou.

Scunthorpe: Slocombe, Williams, Mirfin, Canavan, Nolan, Adelakun (Hayes 65), Sparrow (Waterfall 88), Syers, Hawkridge, Madden, Winnall (Burton 90). Subs (not used): Severn, Ribiero, Godden, Collins

Ref: S Rushton

Att: 2,952