Morecambe close in on title triumph

Morecambe's Tommy Clough in action against Lancaster
Morecambe's Tommy Clough in action against Lancaster
Have your say

Morecambe Cricket Club have one hand on the Northern League title after their Bank Holiday win over Lancaster.

The nine-wicket victory gave them a 19-point lead at the top going into the final two games.

If they beat Preston this Saturday, the title will go to Woodhill Lane for the first time since 2006.

Monday’s Lune Road clash saw Lancaster win the toss and elect to bat first.

The home side were limited to 89-9 in 32 overs, the bulk of those runs scored by opening pair Alex Metcalfe and Charlie Swarbrick.

Metcalfe hit 31 and Swarbrick 21, Ben Simm the one other player to reach double figures with a knock of 16. Morecambe pro Suraj Randiv took 5-15, with Tommy Clough weighing-in with 3-15.

In reply, the visitors chased down their target within 12 overs, closing on 90-1.

Gareth Pedder was unbeaten on 49, opening partner Mark Woodhead scoring 26, before losing his wicket to the bowling of Simm.

Randiv joined Pedder at the crease to see Morecambe through to victory.

Second-placed Fleetwood were nine-run winners over Blackpool at Broadwater.

Fleetwood had first use of their home track and were bowled out for 96.

Wayne Clarke top scored with 32, while Declan Clerkin struck 22.

After his recording-breaking display with the bat on Saturday, Christi Viljoen was more subdued this time.

He was dismissed for just 12 as Blackpool were 87 all out.

David King was the man to send Viljoen back to the pavilion, one of four wickets for the Fleetwood bowler.

Adam Parker and Kieran McGann both took three wickets. Leyland romped to a 164-run victory over lowly Preston at Fox Lane.

Richardt Frenz struck an unbeaten century, hitting 17 fours on his way to 101.

Opener Luis Reece scored 69 as Leyland posted 252-2 in 34.3 overs.

In reply, Preston were 88 all out, Gurman Bains the one batsman to make it into 
double figures with a knock of 36.

Karl Cross took 5-15, with skipper David Makinson returning 2-15.

Chorley beat St Annes by seven wickets in a rain-hit contest at Windsor Park.

St Annes elected to bat first after winning the toss and were 104 all out.

James Lee returned tidy figures of 5-20 from a 10-over spell, Keiran McCullagh and Edwin Moulton taking two wickets apiece.

There followed a lengthy rain delay, with Chorley set a revised target of 61 from 34 overs.

It was one they chased down inside 15 overs, Will Moulton scoring 26 and Daniel Sartori an unbeaten 25.

Netherfield beat neighbours Kendal by 86 runs at Shap Road.

The visitors’ top six batsmen all hit double figures to help them to a first-innings score of 177-6 in 50 overs.

Kendal were 91-9 in reply, last man Oliver Field not batting.

Penrith won by seven wickets in their visit to Barrow.

They bowled the hosts out for just 52, Paul Hindmarch hugely impressive with figures of 8-18.

After losing both openers for ducks, Penrith claimed victory by posting 53-3, Hindmarch unbeaten on 18.