Leyland hit by batting collapse

Blackpool skipper Paul Danson with the Northern League trophy
Blackpool skipper Paul Danson with the Northern League trophy
Have your say

Leyland were unable to finish the Northern League Division One season with a flourish as they went down to a surprise losing draw against lowly Netherfield.

David Makinson’s men, who were the defending champions, have ended the season in second spot – 31 points behind Blackpool.

They looked on course for victory after Luis Reece (77) and Henry Thompson (76) had put on 136 for the second wicket.

However, Leyland lost their next six wickets for 59 runs as they fell three runs short of Netherfield’s total of 218-8

Earlier, Saliya Saman had blasted 74 off just 54 balls for Netherfield, including seven sixes, while Bradley Earl struck a well-crafted 52. Makinson impressed with the ball, taking three wickets.

Blackpool signed off in style with a comfortable five-wicket win over third-placed Darwen.

There was certainly a party atmosphere at Stanley Park as every outfield player bar wicketkeeper Ben Howarth turned their arm over during Darwen’s innings.

Reece Davies and Christopher Clarke both scored half-centuries as the visitors closed on 188.

The new champions knocked off the runs with more than three overs to spare. Gurmandeep Bains top scored with 87. Preston were thrashed by a mammoth 156 runs when they welcomed Fleetwood to West Cliff. Adam Parker hit 57 at the visitors blasted their way to 273-9.

In reply, Preston were 117 all out. Jibran Khan struck 74 but no other batsman reached double figures.

In the other matches to be played, Barrow enjoyed a 62-run victory over Morecambe.

Sam Dutton struck 53 at better than a run-a-ball as Kendal closed on a hefty 256-9.

Gary Collins then took 6-62 as Morecambe were dismissed for 194. Kelly Smuts top scored with 46.

St Annes were four-wicket victors over Kendal after they had restricted the Vernon Road visitors to 109 all out, Michael Harling took 3-22.

The home side reached their victory target despite Stu Parkin’s four wickets.