Defeat did not spoil Morecambe title party

Morecambe's Eddy Read and Suraj Randiv
Morecambe's Eddy Read and Suraj Randiv
Have your say

Morecambe’s final-day defeat against Blackpool could not dampen their Northern Premier League title celebrations.

Josh Dixon’s side were presented with the trophy before the clash at Woodhill Lane, having clinched the title the week before.

Blackpool – champions last year – elected to bat first after winning the toss.

They were 183 all out, with Michael Penny hitting 45 and Stephen Twist 44.

Eddy Read took 4-61 and Tommy Clough 3-46.

In reply, Morecambe fell 42 runs short of their target, bowled out for 141.

Lewis Edge scored 34 and Philip Dennison 25, Christi Viljoen taking 5-50 for the visitors.

Leyland rounded off their campaign with a 32-run victory at St Annes.

There were plenty of runs scored in the Vernon Road clash – 486 in fact.

Batting first, Leyland were 259-6, the scoring accelerated by a rapid-fire knock from Andrew Makinson.

His unbeaten 63 came off just 49 deliveries, Makinson hitting six sixes and three fours.

Henry Thompson scored a half-century (56), with Luis Reece hitting 33.

St Annes made a decent fist of their reply before being bowled out for 227.

Xander Pitchers hit nine boundaries in a knock of 69, with Geeth Kamburgamuwe and Adam Holt scoring half-centuries.

After his son Andrew’s good display at the crease, David Makinson performed well with the ball.

The Leyland skipper took 5-45, with Reece taking 3-91 in a 21-over spell.

Preston’s eight-wicket loss to Netherfield meant they went the whole season without a victory.

Electing to bat first in their visit to Parkside Road, Preston were 96 all out.

Rehman Shah hit 30 before being run out, with Saif Ullah Banglawala scoring 27.

Netherfield knocked off the runs inside 12 overs, posting 98-2, opener Richard Potter top-scoring with 52.

Lancaster were beaten by 10 wickets in their visit to Barrow.

It was not a good afternoon for Ben Simm’s men at Ernest Pass, with them bowled out for just 57.

Danny Welbourne (19) and Charlie Swarbrick (10) were the only two batsmen to make it into double figures.

Barrow replied with the minimum of fuss, their openers guiding them to victory inside 13 overs.

Chorley lost to Fleetwood in a low-scoring clash at Windsor Park. Fleetwood were 109 all out in the first innings, with Chorley bowled out for 93.