County’s big night is massive success

Primary School of the Year winners St Andrew's receive their award
Primary School of the Year winners St Andrew's receive their award
Have your say

St Andrew’s CE Primary School had a night to remember at the prestigious Lancashire Sports Awards at Preston Guild Hall.

The school took home the Primary School of the Year Award, sponsored by The Anderton Centre, beating stiff competition from other schools across the county.

The event was organised by Lancashire Sport Partnership to celebrate the achievements of those who have been a driving force on the county’s sporting scene and included guest speaker, former world champion gymnast Beth Tweddle.

The judges were impressed with quality of the PE sessions and the excellent progress that the children make at St Andrews.

The school made sure that they entered every single competition that was available for them in Preston last year, and won an award for entering the most and the widest range of competitions, out of all of the schools in the city.

Adrian Leather, chief executive of Lancashire Sport Partnership said: “We are delighted to recognise St Andrews as the Primary 
School of the Year in Lancashire.

“In addition to all their sporting achievements over the last year, the school is also educating the children on the benefits of an active and healthy lifestyle.

“We believe that sport and physical activity enhances health and well-being, and enriches communities, so we are delighted to celebrate and reward those who contribute to our region’s growing reputation in sport.”

Keith Gillies, chairman of the Anderton Centre, said: “We’re so proud to be associated with these awards. Our centre works tirelessly with young people to promote the benefits of physical 
activity and the rewards they can bring.

“The awards recognise the achievements of these young people and the dedication and commitment they have demonstrated.”

Volunteer Betty Huggon also received a Highly Commended trophy in the Adult Volunteer of the Year category for her work with Harris Primary School.

Since retiring as a teacher over 20 years ago, Betty has worked tirelessly at Harris Primary school to coach and run lunch time clubs and after school activities in netball and hockey.

She has developed a successful netball team at the primary school and is involved in primary school netball across Preston.

The ceremony, sponsored by Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust.

The winners on the night were:

Primary School of the Year, sponsored by The Anderton Centre

Winner – St Andrew’s CE Primary School, Ashton-on-Ribble, Preston

Highly Commended – Thorn Primary School (Rossendale) and Pear Tree Specialist School (Fylde)

Secondary School of the Year, Sponsored by Thornton Sports

Winner – St Michaels CE High School (Chorley)

Highly Commended – St Bedes (Blackburn) and Worden (South Ribble)

Adult Volunteer of the Year

Frank Entwistle (Burnley)

Highly Commended – Betty Huggon (Preston) and Sally Woods (Hyndburn)

Coach of the Year, sponsored by UCLan

Winner – Anne Wignall (Blackburn)

Highly Commended – Ron Winn (Lancaster)

Community Club of the Year

Winner – Lancaster and Morecambe Hockey Club (Lancaster)

Highly Commended – Astley and Buckshaw FC (Chorley)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner – Susan Lucas (Lancaster)

Highly Commended – Margaret Crompton (Blackpool)

Service to Disability Sport, sponsored by One Partnership

Winner – Vicki Galt

Highly Commended – Joshua Walne (Burnley)

Young Achiever of the Year, sponsored by The Lancashire Rising Star Fund

Winner – Isaac Towers

Highly Commended – Anelia Afsar

Young Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Burnley College

Winner – Megan Riley (Burnley)

Highly Commended – Leon Illsley (Blackpool) and Izzy Hopkins (Preston)