Champions claim cups

Ashton Meths A: From left, Majid Tubasum, Charles Musa and Khamal Hussain
Ashton Meths A: From left, Majid Tubasum, Charles Musa and Khamal Hussain
Have your say

There were doubles all round when Preston Table Tennis League staged its cup finals night.

The title-winning teams in the Premier Division and Divisions One and Two all added the Divisional Cup crowns to their honours list.

And for Division Two champions Riverside F, that meant they have claimed three trophies from these season, as the previous week they also won the Handicap Cup final, when overcoming Premier Division side Gryf A.

Premier Division champions Ashton Meths A took on Garstang A in their final.

And although Garstang’s Martin Wyatt won one game when coming from two legs down to beat Majid Tubasum 11/6 in the decider, it could not prevent a comfortable 5-1 Ashton success.

Charles Musa and Khamal Hussain won two games each and Tubasum won once.

The other Garstang team members on the night were Martin Ireland and Ashley Bradburn.

In the Division One final, Garstang B completed their double by beating league runners-up Astra C.

Matt Howarth won both his games for Astra against Matt Fields and Adam Soar but Fields won his two other games, Stuart Southward won two and Soar won once to give Garstang a 5-2 success.

The other Astra team players were Phil Robinson and Ken Wright.

In the Division Two final, Riverside F were unable to field their star man Paul Carter but Sadiq Asmal, Terry Fitzsimmons and stand-in Tim Holland still did the business against BAC/EE B.

Bill Waddington had an exciting 11/4 fifth leg win over Holland, and was only just pipped 11/9 in the fifth against Fitzsimmons but that was BAC/EE’s only high points as Riverside F won 5-1.

Andy Hindle and Tom Fishwick completed the
BAC/EE side.


PREMIER DIVISION: Champions, Ashton Meths A; Runners-up, Astra A; Relegated: Jacobaeus A and Kirkham B; Average winner: Andy Michnowiec (URCL)

DIVISION ONE: Champions, Garstang B; Runners-up, Astra C; Relegated, Astra D and Croston A; Average winner: Adam Soar (Garstang B)

DIVISION TWO: Champions, Riverside F; Runners-up, Astra E; Average winner Paul Carter (Riverside F)