Tully’s seventh is just reward

Gethin Butler in action at the Fishwick 5-mile race
Gethin Butler in action at the Fishwick 5-mile race
Have your say

Six members of Preston Harriers took part in the Lancaster 5K road race.

It is the first in a series of five which are held on a scenic, flat course along the river bank.

The evening was cool and breezy but the rain had stopped when the runners toed the line.

First Harriers runner to finish was Chris Tully in seventh place (16.44) and he was closely followed by Steve Hallas in ninth (16.46).

Michael O’Donnell was 26th in 18.37 and club chairman Steve Mort was delighted with his new personal best of 20 minutes exactly in 38th place.

Laura Sullivan followed him across the line in 39th place (20.04) and Marian Hesketh was 49th in 21.15.

At the Fishwick 5-mile race, sharp descents, arduous climbs and panoramic views of the River Ribble added to the atmosphere of a fantastic race route.

Gethin Butler led the Preston Harriers charge and after an initially cautious start pushed on to take the race victory in 28.33.

Next over the finishing line was Daniel Whitlock, who raced hard to be rewarded with third overall in 31.00, with Neil McDonald following next in fourth with 32.33, 1st MV45, to also ensure a dominant first men’s team.

Phil Lakeland put in a cracking performance with 42.58 and was followed in by Preston’s only lady on the day Adela Nuttall in 54.02 to complete the Harriers entry.

At the Welcome Tavern 5K, nine Preston Harriers toed the line.

A high-tempo start involved Gethin Butler and Jason Parker, who mixed it up at the sharp end of the action, resulting in a Preston double.

Butler took victory for the second time in two days in 16.20, with Parker pushing him to the line for second overall in 16.38.

The Harriers contingent continued to stream through within the top 10 places with A Newton sixth (17.32), David Watson eighth (17.45), Paul Lightfoot ninth (18.00) and Neil McDonald 10th (18.13).

Strong runs were also seen from Chris Wales (18.55), Steve Clayton (20.30) and Peter Carter (21.29).