Iconic mill on sale as owners move away

Share this article
0
Have your say

An iconic local landmark could be yours after Pilling Windmill was put up for sale.

The historical mill, also known as ‘The Old Mill’ or ‘The Damside Mill’ is on the market for £495,000.

For sale: Pictures of the picturesque Pilling Mill

For sale: Pictures of the picturesque Pilling Mill

The unique family home contains three bedrooms over five floors as well as a wooden balcony which wraps around the converted windmill.

The mill only went on sale on Saturday and owners Catherine, a retired school teacher, and Nick, a bursar, Edwards say “we’re sad to be leaving”.

Catherine said: “We’re moving down to Buckinghamshire but we will definitely miss living here. The house has fantastic views across the Lake District and The Pennies and it’s very peaceful and quiet. It’s been quite a project to modernise it and we’ve loved living here because it has loads of space inside and out. There’s also some great walks around us. It’s a brilliant place to live, we’ve made a lot of memories here and we’re sad to be leaving.”

The pair bought the mill, which sits under a mile from Pilling, in April 2004 for £310,000. On February 2, 2007, Nick and Catherine fitted the mill with a traditional Lancashire boat top cap. The cap was designed to match Marsh Mill at Thorton Cleveleys and was built by Neil Medcalfe - a traditional millwright from Lincolnshire. The placing of the cap, which drew large crowds from the village and the media, restored the windmill as the tallest in the Fylde. In 2008, the restoration of the mill was continued with the fitting of a traditional balcony around the outside, reinstating a view of the mill that had not been seen for over 100 years.

We’re moving down to Buckinghamshire but we will definitely miss living here

The mill was constructed in 1808 by Fylde millright, Ralph Slater, who also built Marsh Mill in Thornton-Cleveleys and the Clifton Windmill near Preston. It continued to operate until 1926, before falling into disrepair. In 1975 the mill was renovated for residential use.