Former Lancashire councillors to be given honour

Chorley Mayor Pat Case
Chorley Mayor Pat Case
Share this article
Have your say

Ex county councillors are being recognised for their contribution to life in Lancashire by being honoured as Aldermen.

The 11 former councillors, who have given 260 years’ service between them, will be formally considered for the accolade at a special meeting of the full council on Thursday.

The honour will be given to four former councillors who represented central Lancashire: Pat Case, Margaret Livesey, Tom Sharratt and Keith Young. Pat Case CBE served on the council for 32 years between 1977 and 1997 and 2001 to 2013. She represented Chorley Rural East Division. She is also a former deputy leader of Chorley Council and a former Mayor.

Former Chorley Rural North councillor Margaret Livesey served on the county council for 16 years.

Tom Sharratt represented South Ribble Rural East for 32 years from 1981 to 2013, he was also a South Ribble Councillor.

The ex-Guardian reporter began writing the Idle Toad – which was distributed to homes in Walton-le-Dale and Bamber Bridge – in 1997.

He was deselected by Labour in 1997 and stood as an Idle Toad.

And Keith Young who represented South Ribble Rural West served on the council for 20 years. County Coun Kevin Ellard, Chairman of Lancashire County Council, said: “Being made an Honorary Alderman of Lancashire is a fitting way to mark what these men and women have done for Lancashire and the county council over many years.

Other councillors to be recognised are: Jean Battle, Chris Cheetham, Shelagh Derwent, Hazel Harding CBE, Chris Holtom, Geoff Roper and Dorothy Westell.

“Those put forward have all shown a tremendous amount of dedication, loyalty and commitment to the thousands of people they served while in office,” added Coun Ellard.