County set for battle for MP's seats

The candidates have been confirmed for the General Election on June 8.

Monday, 15th May 2017, 10:09 am
Updated Tuesday, 16th May 2017, 2:37 pm

Anyone wanting to stand for parliament had until last week to register, and local councils have now published the complete lists for each constituency.

All of the region’s previous MP’s are standing to retain their seats, and there are strong challenges from all the main parties in the central Lancashire constituencies.

In Preston, Labour’s Mark Hendrick is hoping to retain his seat, but is facing challenges from Conservative, Liberal

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Democrat, UKIP and Green candidates. Kevin Beaty is standing for the Conservatives, Neil

Darby for Lib Dems, Simon Platt for UKIP and Anne Power for the Green Party.

In Chorley – which has traditionally been a bellweather seat – Labour’s Lindsay Hoyle is hoping to keep his seat.

He faces Conservative Caroline Moon, Liberal Democrat Stephen Fenn and Green Party candidate Peter Lageard in the battle of the ballot box.

South Ribble’s conservative candidate Seema Kennedy is also hoping to keep her seat.

She faces challengers Julie Gibson for Labour, Lib Dem John Wright, Mark Smith for UKIP and Green candidate Andrew Wright.

Also standing in the constituency is Mark Jarnell of the National Health Action Party.

In Wyre and Preston North four candidates have registered, including Ben Wallace, who hopes to keep the seat for the Conservatives.

He is being challenged by Michelle Heaton-Bentley of the Labour Party, Lib Dem candidate John Potter and Ruth Norbury of the Greens.

In Lancaster and Fleetwood Eric Ollernshaw, who held the seat for the conservatives until 2015, is challenging Labour’s Cat Smith to win the seat back.

The two of them will fight it out together with Lib Dem Robin Long and Green Rebecca Novell.

In the Ribble Valley Tory Nigel Evans is hoping to hold on to his seat, but will be challenged by Labour’s David Hinder and Liberal Democrat Allan Knox.