Celebrating Lancashire’s young people

Share this article
Have your say

The dedication of young people from across Lancashire has been recognised at a special celebration event.

The annual Celebrate YOUth! awards 2014 aim to highlight the work of young people aged 13 to 19, in areas such as volunteering, community engagement, artistic and sporting achievements.

The Celebrate Youth Awards 2014

The Celebrate Youth Awards 2014

The high-energy ceremony, held at Park Hall in Charnock Richard on Tuesday, was opened by free-runners Infinite Flow, last year’s Pinnacle and sporting achievement winners.

VIPs, including Lisa Coleman, who plays Cam in Tracy Beaker, Swedish international and Blackburn Rovers footballer Marcus Olsson, and campaigners Dave and Pat Rogers from Blackburn also joined in the celebrations

One-by-one, presenters Mike Osliffe and Curtis Mohammedian announced the winners onto the main stage, each from a shortlist of eight.

The Community Engagement winners were Lancashire-wide group POWAR, a participation group for children and young people with special educational needs.

The Artistic Achievement winner was Jake Holland of Morecambe, the Sporting Achievement award winner was Ryan Grenfell of Bacup, the Inspiring Volunteering award winner was Joe Henry of Whitworth, and the Improving Lives award winners were the Lancashire Youth Council Sex and Relationships Education Campaign Group.

Philip Newby of Skelmersdale scooped the Barriers Award and also the Pinnacle overall award.

County Coun Matthew Tomlinson, cabinet member for children, young people and schools, said: “It’s a fantastic opportunity for Lancashire County Council and for the wider Lancashire Community to come together and celebrate the remarkable achievements of young people.

“I’m glad to see that it’s become an established date on the calendar for the county.”

The event was organised by Lancashire County Council’s Young People’s Service, and featured performances on the main stage from a host of singers including Megane Weaver and Rob Caunce, Tom Gregory, Lancaster-based Fourth Time Lucky, Adam Williams and Lucas Fletcher.