BIBAs finalists revealed

The winners of the 2011 BIBAs at the prize-giving at the Blackpool Tower Ballroom
The winners of the 2011 BIBAs at the prize-giving at the Blackpool Tower Ballroom
Have your say

The finalists for Lancashire’s biggest business awards have been revealed.

The finalists for the 15 categories at the annual Be Inspired Business Awards (BIBAs) have been unveiled following a initial round of interviews undertaken by the awards judging panel.

The shortlisted businesses will now undergo further interviews before the winner is selected.

Babs Murphy, chief executive of awards organisers the North and Western Lancashire Chamber of Commerce, said: “The calibre of entries this year was exceptionally high and everyone who entered deserves admiration. All the finalists have demonstrated to the judges, success, talent and inspiration.

“They are shining examples with a real aspiration to improve their business and significantly contribute to the local economy.”

The culmination of the BIBAs will take place at the glittering awards ceremony on Friday, August 31, in a purpose built ‘big top’ tent in Avenham Park, Preston


Business of the Year, sponsored by the Lancashire Enterprise Partnership



Universal Products;

Inspired Energy;

Daisy Group;



Eric Wright Group.

Manufacturer of the Year, sponsored by Farmhouse Biscuits, Euravia and Barnfield Construction

Andress Bowen;

Double R Controls;

Evans Vanodine;

Springfield Fuels;

Universal Products Manufacturing;

Chemical Innovations;

Carrington Career and Workwear

Singleton’s Dairy.

The Employer of the Year category, sponsored by Preston College

Ainscough Training;

Eric Wright Group;


Foran & Blake Hair & Beauty;

True Bearing;

Merlin Entertainments;

JRC Roofing Distributors;

Denwa Communications.

Business Woman of the Year

Janet Thornton - Inspired Energy;

Leona Smith - Lantei;

Lorraine Birch - IBEX;

Caroline Sagar - N Compass;

Angel Davis - Sarange (Heskin);

Liz Russell - Envirosystems.

Retailer of the Year sponsored by St George’s Shopping Centre

Cafe Fresch;

UK Good Deals;

Michelle B Fashions;

Krystan t/a Overlander;

Merlin Entertainments;

Redwell Country Inn;

Duk ~ Pond.

Entrepreneur of the Year prize, sponsored by Harrison Drury & Co Solicitors

Adam Patel - UK Good Deals;

Claire Fryer - Mosaic Community Care;

Jane Thornton - Inspired Energy;

Rob Scott - Denwa Communications;

Rob Partington - Ozone Fit;

Mark Dale - MAC Clinical Research;

Kevin Moseley - Swimfin;

David Andrews - Andrews Bowen;

Small Business of the Year, sponsored by OBAS Group

Denwa Communications;


UK Good Deals;

Fat Media;

Gretone Engineering;

Whittles Eastern Europe Logistics;


Central Power Services.

New Business of the Year, sponsored by Cotton Court and Shout Preston



Talent Dynamics,

Puretee Gourmet Flavours,

Whitehead Gas Services,

Business Insight 3, Boundless Communication and UK Restoration Services.

The Leadership Team of the Year

Blackburn College;

Central Power Services;

Via Partnership;

Eric Wright Group;

Andrews Bowen;

The Cartford Inn;

N Compass;

I Care GB.

Change for Growth sponsored by Marsden Rawsthorn

Academy Print & Design,

Central Power Services,

Gannon Oils,

JRC Roofing Distributors,

Via Partnership,

UK Good Deals;


Creative Business of the Year, sponsored by Lancashire Business Channel,

Business Insight 3;

Kaos Adventure;

Mad Science North West;

The Grand at Clitheroe;

Fat Media;

Juicy Media;

MAC Clinical Research;

Palmer Publicity Services.

Green Business of the Year, sponsored by Global Renewables.

Inteb Sustainability;

EnviroSystems; Sunset Park;


Preston Bus;

Holiday Inn.

Exporter of the Year, sponsored by UKTI.

AGC Chemicals Europe;

Singleton’s Dairy;

Chemical Innovations;


Talent Dynamics;

Gannon Oils;

Andrews Bowen;

Evans Vanodine.

Excellence in Customer Service, in a category sponsored by Virgin Trains.

Assured Cleaning Services,

Duk ~ Pond,

Via Partnership,


Fat Media,

Holiday Inn,



E-Business of the Year award, sponsored by Orbit Internet.

The Ink Squid;

Krystan t/a Overlander;

Juicy Media;

Inteb Sustainability;


Duk ~ Pond;

MAC Clinical Research;

Bartle Hall Hotel.