David Essex 'final concert tour' coming to Sheffield City Hall

David Essex
David Essex
Share this article
0
Have your say

Rock On singing star David Essex has announced what may be his final concert tour and he's coming to Sheffield City Hall on Sunday, November 6

He said today: "I'm looking forward to getting back on the road with my band for probably my final concert tour, I'll be missing you”

Tickets for his I'll Be Missing You dates - full dates below - go on sale on Friday, April 8, at 10am. For Sheffield City Hall visit www.sheffieldcityhall.co.uk
The 21 dates in November, his first major tour in over four years, will see him perform much loved hits spanning over his entire 50 year repertoire.

David first shot to fame when he went to an audition for the London production of the musical Godspell and was chosen by enthusiastic US producers for the role of Jesus.

He received major awards and some ecstatic reviews which saw him lead a cast at the Roundhouse and then at the West End for two years.

Since then he has enjoyed a remarkable career that has combined concerts, records, theatre, composing, films and television with striking success.

He has written, recorded and produced albums that have sold millions of copies worldwide.

He’s also had twenty-three top 30 singles in Britain alone, including the Grammy nominated Rock On - which not only topped the charts in Britain and the USA but sold over one million copies.

Subsequent singles followed such as Lamplight, Hold Me Close and Gonna Make You A Star which made David a household name. Mayhem ensued throughout the UK, with crowds for his concerts resembling Beatlemania and traffic stopping whenever he appeared.

David has continued to this day to produce and write albums including 2013’s Reflections and has contributed to stage and screen with the likes of Silver Dream Machine taken from Silver Dream Racer, in which he starred.

Acting credits also include That'll Be The Day, its sequel Stardust, Traveller, The Guvnors, Black Prince and more recently BBC TV's EastEnders as the head of the Moon family. Theatre credits include outstanding performances in Evita, Boogie Nights 2, Footloose, Andrew Lloyd Webber's Aspects Of Love, plus his own musicals Mutiny! and All The Fun Of The Fair.

David is currently appearing at London’s Dominion Theatre in the stage version The War Of The Worlds as The Voice Of Humanity until April 30. This is the first time since he recorded on the original double album in 1978 that he has appeared with the production.

He has also written a bestselling poetry book, Travelling Tinker Man & Other Rhymes, plus two successful autobiographies, A Charmed Life and Over The Moon, the latter a number one Sunday Times Bestseller.

David is the only artiste in the world to have achieved success in all areas of entertainment and this new tour will celebrate just that. David is a unique talent who continues to break boundaries and has a success story that goes on and on and on.

For David Essex updates visit @DavidEssexNews and his official site at www.davidessex.com
For tickets - from10am on Friday, April 8 - visit www.gigsandtours.com and www.ticketmaster.co.uk
DAVID ESSEX I'LL BE MISSING YOU 2016 UK TOUR DATES

Wed 02 Nov 16 Manchester Bridgewater Hall

Thu 03 Nov 16 Cardiff St David’s Hall

Sat 05 Nov 16 Nottingham Royal Concert Hall

Sun 06 Nov 16 Sheffield City Hall
Mon 07 Nov 16 Southampton Mayflower Theatre

Tue 08 Nov 16 Birmingham Symphony Hall

Thu 10 Nov 16 Leicester De Montfort Hall

Fri 11 Nov 16 Newcastle Theatre Royal

Sat 12 Nov 16 Hull City Hall

Sun 13 Nov 16 Glasgow Kings Theatre

Tue 15 Nov 16 Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Wed 16 Nov 16 Ipswich Regent

Thu 17 Nov 16 Southend Cliff Pavilion

Fri 18 Nov 16 Bournemouth International Centre

Sun 20 Nov 16 London Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Mon 21 Nov 16 Bristol Colston Hall

Tue 22 Nov 16 Oxford New Theatre

Thu 24 Nov 16 Stoke Regent Theatre

Fri 25 Nov 16 Harrogate International Centre

Sat 26 Nov 16 Blackpool Opera House

Sun 27 Nov 16 Wolverhampton Civic Hall