Scene is set for another great village show

Retiring president Malcolm Kenyon and chairman William Pye.

Retiring president Malcolm Kenyon and chairman William Pye.

A minute’s silence in memory of Chipping Show life member and former president, Colin Carefoot, was held at the show’s recent AGM.

More than 40 members attended the meeting of what is now known as Chipping Show Ltd, and chairman William Pye invited members to examine the accounts for the year, which showed a good profit thanks to a significant increase in gate receipts.

President Malcolm Kenyon handed over to new president Francis Mercer, saying it had been a privilege to have held the role. Although it had not come as a surprise to see how well-organised the show was, he said seeing first-hand the tasks running like clockwork in the week before the show had been really impressive.

Show day had been a day of great enjoyment for him and his wife Joyce and it went wonderfully well and did not even rain. Malcolm thanked everyone for their support and congratulated all involved in putting on a great show, adding he was sure Fran would do a superb job, wished him well and most of all, to enjoy it.

In turn, Francis said the position of president was one he had never expected in the nearly 40 years of involvement with the show.

He said it was an honour to be elected and he was looking forward to the coming year.

He also commented it was unusual for someone to have his two roles – the ‘top’ job and the ‘bottom’ job, alluding to his maintenance work on the toilet block!

He thanked everyone for honouring him with the role of president and, with their help, he is looking forward to another successful year.

Several new committee members were elected – Janet Casey, Chris Knight, Faye Kitching and David Houghton.

The officers for 2014 are: vice president, Jeffrey Rich; chairman, William Pye; vice chairman, Paul Morris; treasurer, Margaret Rich; assistant treasurer, Angela Heane; secretary, Paul Hunt; assistant secretary, Holly Wheater-Adams; safety officer, Michael Newell; entries secretary, Margaret Rich and assistant entries secretary, Mandy Hamlet.

Dr Ian Forrester continues as honorary doctor, as does George Mercer as honorary solicitor and Grace Hore as honorary accountant, but Glynn Davies has retired and will step down from his role as honorary veterinary surgeon, although stay as a committee member. He will be replaced by Karen Swindlehurst.

David Kay, a past president and tireless helper with the Shetland pony section, and John Moore, from Woodplumpton, who attended his 40th successive show this year, became new life members.

Next year’s show will be held on Saturday, August 23, and planning starts in earnest at the next committee meeting on Monday, January 13.




Back to the top of the page