‘Experienced’ new governors appointed at troubled school

Action plan: Leyland St Mary's High School, in Royal Avenue, is in special measures

Action plan: Leyland St Mary's High School, in Royal Avenue, is in special measures

Share this article
Have your say

Shake-up at Leyland St Mary’s will see current chairman replaced.

A SHAKE-up of the governing body at failing Leyland St Mary’s High School is expected to help move the school out of special measures.

The management team and archdiocese have vowed to carry out a ‘reconstitution’ of the governing body as part of an action plan to improve the school, after a damning Ofsted report found that the governors were ‘ineffective’ and were “not doing enough to improve the quality of teaching and students’ achievement”.

The changes mean that chairman of governors Kathleen Cooper has been replaced with a “very experienced chairman, who is one of only three National Leaders of Governance in the Liverpool Archdiocese.”

A spokesman for the Schools Department of the Archdiocese of Liverpool announced: “The reconstitution brings significant new expertise onto the governing body, as well as ensuring continuity with the inclusion of some governors from the previous body.

“The new body has 12 members in line with Government best practice thinking, and four of these are parents of pupils attending the school. The Archdiocese sees this as a positive step forward in helping to engender parental confidence in the school in line with Ofsted recommendations.”

The new governing body will have its first meeting on January 22, when it is anticipated that they will formally elect John Lumb as chairman.

The newly appointed governors are all governors elsewhere in the Archdiocese and include a recently retired headteacher, a headteacher of an ‘outstanding’ primary school, and a former senior education officer for Lancashire County Council.

“Some of the foundation governors also bring experience of helping schools designated as requiring special measures to improve quickly in order to become good again,” the spokesman added.

The other five governors include the existing local authority governor, Leyland councillor Michael Green, two of the existing parent governors, and headteacher Kathy McNicholas. There will be an election to enable staff at the school to vote for a staff governor to complete the 12.