Church welcomes six new parishes

Archdeacon John Hawley
Archdeacon John Hawley
Share this article
Have your say

The Church of England in Lancashire is set to become home to six new parishes from this Easter weekend.

The parishes, which previously sat under the Diocese of Bradford, will become part of the Diocese of Blackburn as part of changes to create a new “super-diocese” of West Yorkshire and The Dales.

The Blackburn Diocesan Synod voted last April to welcome Hurst Green, Mitton, Waddington, Grindleton, Bolton by Bowland and Gisburn.

Archdeacon of Blackburn John Hawley said: “I have had a very warm welcome by the clergy and parochial church councils of each new parish over the last few weeks and months as I have visited them and supported them through the transition period.

“There is a real sense of anticipation and excitement in the area and we look forward to learning from them as rural parishes, as well as being able to help resource them in their parish mission.”