City needs views on housing plans

Work: Janice Hanson

Work: Janice Hanson

Share this article
0
Have your say

Lancaster needs more than 12,000 new homes to meet demand over the next 20 years, a study has revealed.

An independent consultant last year conducted a local housing requirements study on the district to replace regional targets recently abolished by the Government.

Lancaster Council is now asking residents how they should go about finding locations and creating infrastructure for the new homes. It is holding an eight-week public consultation.

Coun Janice Hanson, cabinet member with responsibility for planning, said: “The scale of the task we are faced with is not to be underestimated.

“Through the work we have done already we have found sufficient land to accommodate 7,000 new homes, but this still leaves a significant shortage of 5,000.

“To fill this gap we need to ensure that we are taking the right approach and to do that we need the help of the public. I would urge everyone to get involved by either attending an event or filling in the online questionnaire.”

A number of ‘drop in’ events will be held across the district. The first will be at Morecambe Arndale Centre from 10am to 3pm on June 3, followed by one from 2pm to 7pm at Carnforth Tesco the next day.

The other consultations are:

• Thursday June 5 at Heysham Library from 2pm to 6pm

• Tuesday June 10 at Ellel Village Hall, Galgate, from 2pm to 7pm

• Wednesday June 11 at Barton Road Community Centre, Scotforth, at 2pm to 7pm

• Thursday June 12 at Dolphinholme Village Hall from 2pm to 7pm

• Saturday June 14 at St Nicholas Arcades from 10am to 3pm

• Tuesday June 17 at Torrisholme Methodist Church from 2pm to 6pm

• Wednesday June 18 at Bolton Le Sands Village Hall from 12.30am to 4.30pm

• Thursday June 19 at The Centre, Halton, from 3.15pm to 6.45pm

• Tuesday June24 at Victoria Institute, Caton from 2pm to 7pm

• Wednesday June 25 at Nether Kellet Village Hall from 2pm to 6.30pm

• Thursday June 26 at Hornby Institute from 2pm to 7pm

• Friday June 27 at Fraser Hall Cowan Bridge from 2pm to 7pm